SUI 313 “FREE” Dirk Oldenburg, Ian Ainslie & Dominik Zycki Win Marblehead Trophy!

29 Dragon Teams representing 29 different Yacht Clubs from all over the World gathered in Sonderborg, Denmark from June 14th to 16th for the annual Marblehead Trophy contested once again, in the International Dragon Class, as it has been for a long number of years. Sonderborg, a Danish Town in the region of Southern Denmark, was chosen by last years Marblehead winner Jens Christensen (DEN 410) representing the Royal Danish Yacht Club.


Last Year’s Winner Jens Christensen (DEN 410) starts at the Committee Boat in Race 1.

This year it was Dirk Oldenburg (SUI 313) representing the Societe’ Nautique de Saint Tropez who produced his very best sailing with top crew of Ian Ainslie & Dominik Zycki to take home this prestigious trophy and look forward to defending it on the crystal clear Blue Mediterranean waters of St Tropez in 2025. I asked Dirk what it was like to win his first major International’s Dragon regatta? He told me “After many years of mixed experiences, we as Team FREE, had the perfect week with good starts, speed and strategy. Together with Ian & Dominik we feel proud that we have been able to keep this strong fleet including the current World Champions, Gold Cup Winners and European Champions behind us. I am honoured to have been able to represent the SNST and hope that we can organise the 2025 Marblehead in St Tropez”.  Dirk continued to add “I was moved by how many personal reactions I have received congratulating us, it shows how special this trophy obviously is for us and our class. To lift this monumental Trophy which holds so much history, at prize giving was a true honour”. Well said Dirk & many congratulations to you, Ian & Dominik.

The prestigious Marblehead Trophy will be contested next year in St Tropez.

Although Dirk and his team won with a race to spare they did not have it all their own way, as Jan Secher helming SWE 800 crewed by Richard Sydenham & Gery Mitchell put together another excellent series winning two of the 6 races along the way to take the runner’s up spot.. Also showing top form as they get used to their brand new Petticrows was Grant Gordon GBR 833 and his young 4 person team of Faye Chatterton, Luke Patience & Elliot Hansen finishing just a point behind Jan to take 3rd place overall.


2nd & 3rd Overall SWE 800 Jan Secher and GBR 833 Grant Gordon.

This was a truly memorable Marblehead Trophy with teams competing from all over Europe and as far away as the United States (USA 325 William Swigart). Many thanks to the organisers of Sonderborg and last years winner Jens Christensen for putting together such a well co-ordinated regatta. Despite losing a day with too much wind this was a Marblehead to remember especially for Dirk and his team…..

Higher, longer, Faster……    Stavros.

Many thanks to Jan Kruse @   For these excellent photos.