overall leader Martin Byrne made a nice job of the first beat coming up left of centre to lead the fleet at the first Mark. Behind him there was something of a melee as half a dozen boats came in together. The rounding order was

1 Martin Byrne
2 Andrew Craig
3 Richard Goodbody
4 Cameron Good
5 Neil Heggarty
6 Klaus Diederichs
7 Simon Brien
8 Anthony O’Neil

However both Good and Hegarty and infringed at some point during the rounding and had to do turns loosing them each a number of places.