Jens Christensen, Kim Andersen & Anders Bagger, Top the Podium!

12 Yacht Clubs were represented by 37 sailors from 8 different countries in Vilamoura to see who would lift the iconic “Marblehead Trophy” for 2021 sailed again in the International Dragon Class. This historic trophy was initiated back in 1929 (coincidently the year the Dragon was designed), as part of Marblehead’s Tricentennial (300th anniversary) Celebration to be awarded to the best International sailor’s Yacht Club. The Trophy’s purpose was to promote Marblehead as the “Yachting Capital of the World”.

Although Sweden dominated Trophy wins until 1950, it was then won by German (13 times), Italian (9 times), Greek (2 times), Danish (13 times) and French (once) yacht clubs. In 2019 it was won by Dmitry Samokhin representing Yacht Club Hurcules, St Petersburg. However, due to major works to the Yacht Club’s Marina Dmitry was granted permission by both the Marblehead Administrators & Yacht Club Hurcules to host the event in Vilamoura in 2020. This 91st edition of competition was won by top Portuguese sailor Pedro Andrade (representing Club Nautico de Tavira) who asked Vilamoura Sailing to host proceedings again for 2021, which took place 10th-14th Nov.

Extremely close racing in Vilamoura, with super warm conditions……

This time, although Pedro put up a fantastic fight, as did Pieter Heerema (Holland) they, along with all the other top teams could not match the speed and skill of Jens, Kim & Anders sailing their “brand new” V6 Petticrows from winning the trophy, counting 1,1,3,1,1 discarding a 3!  An amazing performance.

Morning Briefings from PRO Nino Shmueli & Vilamoura Sailing’s Nuno Reis.

Jens is no stranger to top level sailing and as Director of North Sails now receiving what he believes is his 10th Petticrows Dragon, he will proudly take the Marblehead Trophy back to his home KDY (Royal Danish Yacht Club) in Hellerup, just north of Copenhagen. Many congratulations Jens to you, Kim & Anders.

Winners of the 2021 “Marblehead” Trophy, Jens, Kim & Anders.

In 2nd place overall just ahead of defending champion Pedro Andrade, was Pieter Heerema representing RYC de Kaag crewed by Lars Hendriksen & George Leonchuk. Pieter and Pedro finished on 13pts after the 6 races (1 discard) each also tied on count  back, so the overall result was made on the final race position.

Runners Up in Marblehead Trophy, Pieter, Lars & George.

3rd Overall Katie Cole, Rory Paton & Pedro Andrade.

The whole event was superbly organised by Vilamoura Sailing, keeping everyone informed by WhatsApp group, providing excellent race management, first class Marina facilities, great “apres” sail hospitality and a really friendly atmosphere each evening at an array of magnificent local restaurants..  A top event all round.

So in closing the “Marblehead Trophy” is in safe hands and on its way back to Denmark for the 14th time, now mounted on a top quality wooden base, protected in a unique wooden box generously supplied by “Petticrows” Pedro Andrade. Vilamoura Sailing and the Dragon Class has once again provided the ultimate challenge for such a prestigious trophy.. The stage is set for the 2022 Yacht Club challenge… watch this space…..

Higher, Faster, Longer……    Stavros.