MH1DEN 410 Jens Christensen holds the wonderful Trophy, with Kim Andersen & Rene Villefrance.

The 2016 Marblehead Trophy has been won by Jens Christensen representing the Royal Danish Yacht Club , crewed by Kim Andersen & Rene Villefrance. After holding a slender overnight lead of just 1 point, Jens and his top team secured the championship with a further 3rd and 2nd place today.

Moving up to 2nd place overall was the experienced German team representing Bayerischer Yacht Club sailing GER 11, helmed by Marcus Brenneke, crewed by Jochen Schumann & Theis Palm. Marcus scored a 1st, 5th & 2nd today to finish just 1 point behind the winners on 14 points.

MH22nd Overall, GER 11 Marcus Brenneke, Multiple Olympic Champion Jochen Schumann & Theis Palm.

The final “Podium” position went deservedly to 14 year old Oscar Hendriksen sailing with his Dad Lars Hendriksen in his DEN 138 “Eva”, also crewed by Lars Stenfeldt. This remarkable young man, helming a Dragon for the very first time, pushed all the experienced sailors to the limit.. This outstanding result is a true “inspiration” for young sailors all over the world and I am sure Mum and Dad will be very proud of their son “Oscar” tonight !!  🙂

MH3 (2)

13239344_1300361319992635_6566734832895621204_n (2)

3rd overall of the 2016 Marblehead Trophy, Oscar Hendriksen, with Lars & Lars 🙂

4th place overall and having a very good final day with two 1st places was POR 66 “Drago” helmed by Jose’ Matoso, crewed by Gustavo Lima & Frederico Melo. In 5th was the defending Champion and principle sponsor Jorgen Schonherr DEN 411 “African Queen” crewed by Christen Videbaek & Thomas Schmidt. Jorgen passed on the Marblehead Trophy to Jens to defend in 2017.

This was an extremely well organised and enjoyed event and a fine example of the best experienced “Professionals” going head to head against the young “Champions” of tomorrow…..

Higher, Faster, Longer…………….    Stavros.