Pedro Andrade Wins Portuguese Grand Prix in Vilamoura.

Pedro Andrade, Tanit Cabau, Afonso Rodrigues & Haydn Sewell.

The 4th and final IDA Grade 1 attracted 18 top teams to Vilamoura from 20th to 24th November. Conditions were ideal throughout the championship with sunshine every day, cloudless skies and a variety of wind conditions that saw all 8 races completed to schedule.

Such was the strength of competition the first 5 races were all won by a different team. In the beginning the line honours fell to SWE 800 (Jan Secher) & TUR 12 (Andy Beadsworth) on the opening day, followed by POR 89 (Perdo Andrade) and GER 1207 (Nicola Fresen) on day 2.


By the 3rd day conditions were a little lighter so only 1 race could be completed, won by JPN 56 (Peter Gilmour). Peter showed composure and great skills to take the bullet despite a strong challenge from POR 90 (Michael Zankel).


On the final 4th day the wind was perfect to complete the series with another 3 great races. PRO Nino Shmueli had the Vilamoura Sailing GPS Marks set by Luis Raposo at a distance of 1.4nm. This allowed the fleet approximately 75mins per race.


Pedro Andrade with Tanit, Alfonso & Haydn in POR 89 dominated the first two races to give them a remarkable “overall” regatta victory with a race to spare! This was truly brilliant sailing as the fleet was of the highest quality…


Also showing great form in the opening two races was POR 90 helmed by Michael Zankel, crewed by Diogo Pereira & Joao Matos Rosa from Cascais. Indeed, Michael’s result gave him 2nd overall, also without needing to sail the final race number 8…  A brilliant achievement by both teams. Well Done.


So the stage was set for the final podium place, after the 1st & 2nd teams had sailed back to the Marina for a well deserved early beer  😀


With a possible 4 boats still in with a chance it was Peter Gilmour helming JPN 56 crewed by his Son Sam Gilmour & Yaji San.. who took the race win and with it 3rd overall.. A great way to finish the Grand Prix giving the main sponsors “Yanmar” the final podium position.


Top CORINTHIANS were the new team on the block from USA 325 “Magic” helmed by William Swigart, crewed by David Ceaser & Arthur Anosov.  This team also won the coveted Phyllis & Lowell Chang “Corinthian Trophy” 🏆 awarded to the top team counting 3 grade 1’s (This season counting 2). So very well done to Will, Dave & Arthur.  👍


2nd Corinthians was the flamboyant Dutch Team from NED 390 helmed by Klaas Ruigewaard, crewed by Sicco Hoogerbeets & Louis Keulemans.


3rd overall was GBR 872 Graham Bailey,  Julia Bailey and Dave Ross representing the Royal Yacht Squadron,  Cowes.



This was a super regatta organised by the experienced Vilamoura Sailing Team led by Nuno Reis. There is no doubt, the 2025 World Championships will be in good hands when Dragon Sailors return to Vilamoura with hopefully maximum participation for the ultimate prize….. World Glory..  🏆


Higher, Faster, Longer….. Stavros.