Winners Torvar Mirsky, Pete Cooke (Helm) with Jose Matoso (CNC) & Frederico Melo.

The 28th edition of the HM King Juan Carlos Trophy took place in Cascais from 14th to 16th April, with 7 races completed over the three days in a predominately northerly wind. The event was first established in 1995 when his Majesty King Juan Carlos of Spain donated a trophy to Clube Naval de Cascais, to honour the place and club where he learned to sail and compete.

Winners of Race 1 Karl Odent, Xavier Vanneste (Helm) with Patrick de Barros (CNC) & Gustavo Lima.

This time 8 teams from 5 different Nations competed for this prestigious trophy in clear blue skies and excellent sailing conditions. On the first day with 14kts of breeze the Belgium team of Xavier Vanneste, Karl Odent and local Olympian Gustavo Lima won the opening race-thus winning the Vincie Hoesch Trophy. The second race of the day was won by AUS 551 helmed by Pete Cooke from the Royal Forth Yacht Club in Edinburgh, crewed by owner Torvar Mirsky and local expert Frederico Melo.

AUS 551 “YeahNah”. Winners of Race 2 on the opening day in Cascais.

On the second day three races were completed in similar conditions to day 1. Winning the opening race was POR 1177 helmed by Michael Zankel, crewed by Diogo Pereira and Joao Matos Rosa. AUS 551 took Race 4 and POR 89 helmed by Pedro Mendes Leal won Race 5.

Fantastic conditions on day 2 in Cascais, with all 8 teams enjoying amazing racing.

On the final day the wind was much lighter (around 7kts) and anyone of 3 teams were still in with a chance to lift the trophy. Even though POR 1177 Michael Zankel with his top Portuguese team won Race 6 they could not catch AUS 551 overall after slipping to 5th in the final race. Two 2nd places on the day were enough for Pete Cooke and his top team to take the title counting just 11 points discarding a 3rd place. An excellent regatta giving Pete Cooke his first International success after honing his skills in Mallorca over the winter.

AUS 551 “Yeah Nah” powering their way to victory in Cascais.

Despite finishing 5th in the final race POR 1177 “Easy” with Michael Zankel at the helm could discard this result and held comfortably held on to 2nd overall on 13 points, just 2 points behind the winners.

2nd overall POR 1177 “Easy” Michael Zankel, Diogo Pereira & Joao Matos Rosa.

Completing the podium in 3rd place overall and winning the coveted “Stavros” Trophy in the final race was POR 89 “Jupiter” helmed by Pedro Mendes Leal, crewed by Tanit Cabau Wolf, Pedro Andrade & Natali Alexandrova. With two race wins under their belt, this 4 person team put together a very tidy series, discarding a DNC in race2 to finish on 15 points.

3rd overall & winning the Stavros Trophy, POR 89 Natali Alexandrova, Pedro Mendes Leal (Helm) with Patrick De Barros (CNC), Tanit Cabau Wolf & Pedro Andrade.

The top Corinthian Team were the Irish sailors from Dublin, IRL 206 “Cloud” helmed by Jay Bourke, crewed by his son Conn and Sam Gillivan. Jay has been a supporter of Cascais for many years and really loves the conditions and the local Irish Bar’s 🙂

Top Corinthians, IRL 206 Conn Harte Bourke, Jay Bourke, Patrick de Barros (CNC) & Sam Gillivan.

So another very successful Juan Carlos Trophy sailed in perfect conditions and a great spirit. Many congratulations to Pete Cooke and his winning crew and to all the podium teams.

My thanks to CNC co-ordinator Sebastiao and to Neuza Aires Pereira for the fantastic photos.

Higher, Faster, Longer…..   Stavros.