Marblehead_Logo_03_9427b6eeedThis magnificent Trophy will be raced for in Kiel as the current holder Tommy Muller tries to retain the cup yet again !!!!!!!!

However, this year sees one of the most competitive fleets ever! With Jorgan Schonherr, Frank Berg and Markus Wieser showing up it will not be so easy for Tommy this time….

Also in the mix is the current “Corinthian” Champion Jan Woortman and top Lady Helm Tanja Jacobsohn from Germany. The first race is a long distance race of around 25miles. It begins at Strande and then out around the Kiel Light House, passing a few other race marks on the way back…. This race counts double points, alongside 5 windward/leeward.

The Marblehead Trophy was presented upon the 300th Anniversary of the founding of their town by the people of Marblehead, Massachusetts. It was first raced for in 1929. Each year any recognised club can challenge the holder in a series of races designated by the current holder in his or her country. Tommy Muller has his work cut out this year as he once again has chosen to defend the cup in his home Yacht Club in Kiel.

Another interesting introduction in this series is the first competitive sailings of the new PCT Dragons from Dubai, no doubt the rest of the world will be watching to see how these boats shape up….  Tommy has held the Marblehead Trophy for many years now, so it will be really interesting to see who comes out on top ??  Could we see the 2015 event shift to Dubai ??  Or will one of the top Danish teams take it home ?? All will be recorded here fellow sailors, so keep watching and I’ll let you know, day by day………..

Higher, Faster, Longer………….   Stavros.