FlagsSailors were left frustrated at the 5th Cascais Winter Series, as the predicted strong Northerly Winds gusting in excess of 30 kts prevented anymore racing yesterday (Sunday).  Therefore the results remained the same from the three races sailed on Saturday giving a delighted Pedro Andrade a well deserved event win.

Not only did Pedro and his team of Charles Nankin and Piet Hein de Jager win this 5th Winter Series, but they also collected the Prince Henry the Navigator Trophy for the 2nd year in succession. This beautiful porcelain trophy remains at the Club Naval for safe keeping but has a prestigious history and used to be awarded annually down in Vilamoura prior to the Portuguese Dragon Fleet building up it’s “strong” and extremely well facilitated base in Cascais. So very well done to Pedro and his team sailing his new Petticrows “Monday”.


Pedro with his winning team Piet Hein de Jager (Middle) and Charles Nankin (Bow).


2nd overall went to GBR 801 “Alfie” helmed by Lawrie Smith, fresh back from an Etchells victory in Miami, with his 4 man crew of Hugo Rocha, Goncalo Ribeiro & Ruben Sole.This team are really getting their “act” together and will start as one of the main favourites for the World Championships during June.

3rd overall and also “Top Corinthian” team was SWE 385 “Still Crazy” helmed by Stefan Winberg, crewed by Fredrik Brotell and Markus Lagerquist.  This team put together some very consistent results over the three races flying the flag for all Corinthian Crews once again.


Stefan Winberg proves he is “Still Crazy” as he drives his Corinthian Team into 3rd place.

With 33 boats already racing in Cascais the numbers continue to build up nicely as we look forward to the Grade 1 “Juan Carlos” Trophy in April. Our IDA Chairman Vasily Senatorov, told a packed clubhouse during Prize Giving that everyone was looking forward to a well organised and well attended World Championships later in the year.


Vasily Senatorov giving his full support to the Club Naval de Cascais at Prize Giving.

I would also like to congratulate the team from MON 2 “Jeanie” helmed by Jens Rathsack, crewed by Diogo Pereira & Tiago Marcelino for putting together a consistent series to finish in 4th place overall. Also POR 64 “Lady Tati” helmed by Patrick de Barros, crewed by Alvaro Marinho and Rodrigo Vantacich who finished a very creditable 5th…..

Higher, Faster, Longer…………….    Stavros. 

Again my heartfelt thanks to Ricardo Pinto for these excellent photo’s…..   check out the full action on his website…   www.rspinto.com